Work and Work
2006-01-31 - 9:55 p.m.

Can anybody tell me how to get my older entries page to show up? I tried to change the html to what's on the main page here so it will look the same, but with the list of older entries, and it still goes to the D-land error page. I can't figure it out. I don't need to refresh my diary like it says on the error page, do I?

I just got done working for the day and I feel way better than I did last week. I even got it all finished, whereas most of the time I have some left to do the following morning. Whoo! I think this is the 9th or 10th day in a row that I've gotten all or most of the work I've requested, so maybe I can get a decent-sized paycheck for this pay period.

I guess since I had a pretty good day things needed to be balanced out by B having a bad day, or rather a not-so-good day. He was out in back of the store in the storage area and suddenly a beer bottle seemingly feel from the sky and broke on the ground not far from him. My first thought when he told me was that maybe it fell off the roof of the building somehow, but B said the roof is flat and even if a bottle would've rolled to the edge it would've gotten caught in the gutter. Apparently there's this guy living in an apartment above the hair salon next door who's yelled over to B several times saying, "Hey man, give me a job" or something, and B told him he has no work for him. (This is in addition to the two homeless guys who've been bugging B off and on for the last year or so.) Anyway, judging by where the bottle landed and stuff it seems likely that this guy lobbed the bottle out the window. B doesn't think the guy was actually trying to hit him since he threw it when B was standing inside the doorway, but it's still scary. B went over to the hair salon and spoke to the woman who runs it, and she said she'd take care of the situation. I don't know if that means she's going to throw the guy out or what.

After this incident, one of those two homeless guys I mentioned came by the store twice, probably wanting more handouts. B said this guy is always pleasant and in a good mood, but the other homeless guy is the one he's most concerned about now. This other guy actually called B here at our house on Christmas Eve desperately wanting money. B was pissed. He told him to never call him at home again and he better not come to the house, either. B apparently has offered to give this guy some money if he comes to the store and does some work, but he just won't do it. He wants the money without doing the work. The guy has since contacted B two or three times STILL asking for money, but he's never showed up to do any work, so needless to say B hasn't given him any more money.

My mom called me last night, I think probably to tell me the news about the guy who died last week, and we ended up talking for almost two hours. She got a kick out of hearing my list of made-up words from the transcription I do. She's a big stickler about grammar, punctuation, spelling, etc. like I am. I used to drive her crazy when I was a kid because I felt like spelling didn't really matter if you could still read it. She also used to call me "hard hearted" because I didn't cry at sad movies and things and now both of those things are the total opposite with me. EVERYTHING makes me cry. It's so embarassing.

Anyway, we had a nice talk. I noticed at the beginning of the conversation that I was doing most of the talking, but as time went on it flip-flopped and then she was doing most of the talking. I guess she just needed to get warmed up. She apologized for not calling more often but she's not really a phone person, and unfortunately I'm the same way so I don't call her much either. Once we actually get on the phone though, talking isn't much of a problem, apparently.

B is moving right along with his studying and in fact he's finished the first of the 18 sections he needs to complete. He's been posting to a message board for the students taking this course and he's pretty excited that some people have responded to him. I know how he feels; it's always fun for me to get a comment in my notes here (or an email). Maybe I mentioned this already, I can't remember, but B is now working part time so he can spend more time studying. He talked it over with his brother and their employees and the plan is for B to work his regular hours on Tuesdays and Saturdays and work half days on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. The best part is that he won't have to take a pay cut, so he'll have plenty of time to study and we won't have to worry about our finances.

Oh, and thanks for sharing your tip about bangs Heather. I'll try that tomorrow!