Lots of whining
2006-01-29 - 3:09 p.m.

I had an exhausting week last week. I don't know why exactly, but I had a hard time getting my work done. Well, okay I think I do know why, actually. I think I'm having a flare because I've been more tired and sore than usual, so I can assume that would affect my efficiency while working, too. This past week I think I did the most transcribing I've ever done in a single week.

I have to request my work a day in advance, so on Thursday morning I ask for work for Friday. Since B works on Saturdays I try to work on Saturdays too, so when I request work for Fridays I ask for twice as much as usual - half of it for Friday and half for Saturday.

I usally get an email late that evening telling me if I'll get what I requested or not, but since someone had called in sick and they were behind I never got that email. If I was going to get enough for Friday and Saturday I was going to take Monday off, but I had to request my work for Monday by Friday morning before I knew about Friday and Saturday's work yet. Confused yet?

Anyway, I got work enough for Friday and Saturday plus I requested work for tomorrow, so basically today is my only day off. It would've been nice to have a couple days off after such a tiring week , but at least the money will be nice. My last paycheck was pretty shrimpy.

Today was our grocery shopping day and for some reason grocery shopping makes me so tired. I mean, it is not normal. After we go grocery shopping I'm not worth a darn for the rest of the day. I used to take a nap when we got home, but that never really seemed to help.

I can only presume that my fibromyalgia or hypothyroidism or chronic fatigue syndrome or whatever is wrong with me is at fault. I've been taking Armour thyroid for months and months now (about 8 months, I think), which doesn't seem to help much, plus I started taking Cortef to help with my adrenals and it seems like it may have helped a bit, but not enough. So I'm going to switch from Armour to Synthroid. I've heard that people respond differently to them and if Armour isn't the thing for me, maybe Synthroid is. I'm hoping it will help with my weight, too.

I've been trying to get back into working out on a regular basis, and I did manage to walk on the treadmill most every day last week, but I felt horrible after each time. I mean, like deathly tired. That may have contibuted to my overall feeling of crappiness last week, too. I know I've put on a few pounds and it's extremely frustrating because it's not like I'm pigging out here. I am sitting down most of the day when I'm working, which I'm sure doesn't help the cause, but I'm so tired after typing all day that I feel like I've already worked out. It's so unfair.

But if this is indeed a flare then it will end at some point, hopefully sooner than later, and I'll feel better. I'm just angry at my body for being in pain when it seems there's no reason for it to be, and I'm frustrated that it seems like my progress with work went backwards this past week. I was having no trouble doing 90 minutes of audio a day, then suddenly I could barely get it done and I felt exhausted afterwards.

Sorry for such a whiny entry. Maybe I'll save writing again until I'm feeling more cheerful.