I should listen to my gut more often
2006-02-17 - 10:32 a.m.

Well, it looks like my original prediction was correct. B's nephew and his girlfriend didn't show up yesterday. No phone call, nothing. B found out this morning that his nephew got his car stuck in the yard or something and got flustered and forgot to call or whatever, but until then we had no idea if they were stuck out on the road somewhere, if they got lost, if they were dead or what.

He's said they would be leaving around 2:00 yesterday which meant they'd arrive here around by 9:00 or so. When they still weren't here by 10:30 I said, "I hope they get here before midnight at least," so we could go to bed without having to worry about where they were. But no such luck. We went to bed around 11:30 and pretty much tossed and turned all night, afraid that they'd call or knock on the door and we wouldn't hear them.

Now that I know they're safe I'm pissed. B and I are both working today and we're going on a very minimal amount of sleep here. I spent a lot of time getting that room ready by last night and we even made extra room in the den so we'd all have room to sit in there. I guess our efforts won't be totally wasted, but it still pisses me off.

Anyway, B said they're leaving pretty much right now and should be here around dinner time. B's brother D is having an art opening this evening that we're supposed to go to, but I don't know what time. With our luck it will probably be around dinner time and B's nephew won't be here yet. Ugh.

I'm trying to keep in mind that I did my share of irrensponsible and inconsiderate things when I was B's nephew's age, so I'm trying to cut him some slack...but ultimately I'm still pissed.