Good test results
2006-03-27 - 1:08 p.m.

B was just called into work because his brother is sick. That's the bad news. The good news is that he finally found out the results of his first medical transcription test - he got a 97!

He completed the test and sent it in the Friday before last, I think, and he's been going nuts waiting for the results ever since. It was only supposed to take 5 business days to get it back so he finally called them last Friday to ask what was going on. His supervisor was already gone for the day and they're closed on the weekends, so he had to wait again until this morning when he finally got an email with his test score.

Nothing much else has been going on. I started to wean myself off both Arm0ur and C0rtef because neither one seem to be doing anything for me. I'm still taking the iron supplements even though I haven't noticed any effects from them, either. Yesterday was grocery day and I felt just as wiped out afterwards as usual. My dermatitis seemed to be clearing up when we had some warm weather a few weeks ago but it came back as soon as it got cold again.

A download I'd had going for a few days finished this morning (a concert video by Jpop singer N@mie Amur0) and when I first tried to burn it onto DVD the program said the file was too big. The file was 4.4 gigs and DVDs hold 4.7 gigs so I don't know what the problem was, but I was able to burn it using another program. Last night I tried to burn a regular music CD and it kept telling me that one of the files was the wrong format, even though they were all mp3s. I tried it using three different programs but I kept getting the same error, so finally B copied the files to his computer and burned it for me. The CD was actually for him, anyway.

I've been using the sewing machine some more recently and I think I finally have the hang of it. I don't need to whip out the manual every time I want to put different thread in it and I haven't had any more trouble with threading the bobbin or the bobbin thread breaking. I hemmed the sleeves on my jean jacket and on a sweatshirt and they turned out pretty well. I have some jeans and a denim shirt I want to shorten so I need to get some of that gold-yellow denim thread.

I had a really long interview to transcribe on Saturday. It was an interview with a Mandarin-speaking woman so there was an interpreter, but even so they spent about 10 minutes on one question because the Chinese woman just didn't seem to understand what was being asked. The question was an important one in terms of figuring out who was liable so that's why the interviewer kept pressing for a definitive answer, but eventually she gave up and moved on to the next question. Towards the end of the interview they went back to that question and it seemed they finally got it cleared up.

Miki has been laying in the little blue cat bed and I got a picture of her but it's still on the camera, so I'll put that up some time later on.