Catching up
2006-05-05 - 12:06 p.m.

I've been waiting for over an hour for my work to be routed to me, so now that I've decided to write in here I'll probably get my work. XD

As long as I have these compression gloves on my hands feel okay, though I was glad I took less work than usual yesterday because my left arm was hurting after a while. Geez. So my hand injury was one thing I've been wanting to write about. I have no idea how it happened and it's not serious - no broken bones or sprains - but it was making it nearly impossible for me to type. B and I think it is tendonitis, which basically is inflamation of a tendon (in my hand), and there's really nothing you can do for it except allow it to heal, I guess. So that's why I took a few days off.

The second thing I wanted to mention is that the deck guy finally came by last night. Since I last wrote, B called him several times and left messages, one of which was with the guy's wife, who then said she'd have him call B when he got home that night (didn't happen). B waited a few days then, after talking with a lawyer friend of his, called the deck guy one more time and left a message saying that if he didn't hear back from him this time he was going to take this to small claims court. The deck guy called back LESS THAN A MINUTE LATER saying that he'd never gotten any of the messages B left (except the one from his wife), then he explained that he'd had two strokes (!!) and he'd sent someone over here in February to finish the deck and assumed this person had been here.

We're not sure how much of this story to believe. I'd be more willing to give him the benefit of the doubt if he would've called back before B threatened to take him to court. Anyway, he was supposed to come by yesterday afternoon and finally showed up around 6:00 p.m. after we'd given up on him and decided to have dinner. B showed him all the things wrong with the deck and he agreed to fix everything then sand and seal it this coming Monday. We'll see how that goes. Keep your fingers crossed.

The third thing I wanted to mention was that last weekend, B suddenly wanted to talk about my birthday present for this year. My birthday isn't until August, so that was a surprise, but what he has in mind for my present was an even bigger surprise. Now, brace yourself because this is really, really radical and I expect that you will have some strong opinions about this, but what he wants to give me is liposuction.

Ever since I was about 13 years old, when my hips suddenly began expanding disproportionately to the rest of my body, I've been struggling with the shape of my body. My hips are more than 10 inches bigger than my waist and this makes it hard to find things that fit. Dresses are nearly impossible because I'm small up top, so if it fits on top it's too small for the bottom and vice-versa. I've succeeded in losing about 50 pounds since I was at my heaviest and I'm at a healthy weight for someone my age and height, but still the hips and thunder thighs are there. I also have this gross-looking flab hanging from my upper arms.

B has seen me struggle with my weight over the years and it seems clear that I'd have to be at a very low, unhealthy weight to even make a dent in the size of my hips and thighs. I've done a lot of research over the past few days and it looks like I would be a great candidate for liposuction. The reason B brought this up so far in advance of my birthday is because he wants to have it done before summertime so I can enjoy the summer as the new, thinner me.

Oh well, my work is finally ready so I better get going. One more thing - my Swedish friend shipped my Ayumi concert goods a few days ago so I'm dying to get them. Hopefully it won't take too terribly long. :)