More dishonest people
2006-05-19 - 8:21 p.m.

I'm still feeling really bummed about Elliot leaving Americ@n Id0l. I know some people aren't into reality shows and that's cool with me, as long as they are cool with me talking about them all the time. XD

I remember when the first season of Survivor was being advertised I thought it looked kind of stupid, but then I ended up watching the first episode because it came on after something else I was watching (Friends, I think) and I got totally hooked on it. I'll probably be watching it until it goes off the air.

We've not seen hide nor hair of the deck guy since he came back to replace some of those warped pieces. And even the pieces he replaced only look okay; not great. Now B has hired someone to come and replace the gutters on the house and we're hoping this will go a lot better. This guy replaced the gutters at B's store so that at least gives him some credibility. There was actually another guy who came and gave B an estimate on the gutters and B was ready to give him the job, but then he gave B a contract to sign and pretty much wanted B to just sign it without reading it. B told him he'd rather take it and read over it, THEN sign it if he was okay with it, but the contact had some questionable clauses in it. B once again consulted with his lawyer friend and he strongly suggested that B not sign it, and when B tried to explain to the gutter guy why he was uncomfortable with the contract the guy just went off on him (this was over the phone).

Did he really think B would respond positively to being yelled at? B ended up hanging up on him...or possibly the guy hung up on B. Not sure who hung up first, but that was the end of things with that guy. One of the questionable things in his contract was a provision for a $500 cancellation fee, and the total price he quoted us was only for $300! Plus he wanted to be able to make "draws" while doing the job, which meant he wanted the option to charge us more money with no apparent limit for extra stuff that may come up. Doesn't sound on the up-and-up, does it?

So that's been the excitement going on around here. Next Thursday is when I go see the lipo doctor, so I'm counting down the days.