More lip info
2006-05-27 - 10:11 p.m.

You were very close in thinking that I'll be having the lipo done on my birthday, but my birthday is actually two days after that, so looks like the actual day of my birthday will be spent either groaning in pain or being knocked out by pain killers (or maybe a little of both).

Actually, the doctor said the method he plans to use on me usually causes a minimal amount of pain. I have a pre-op appointment at his office the day before surgery and they'll give me the necessary prescriptions for pain killers so I can get them that day and have them ready when I get home after the surgery. They also said they could give me something to help me relax before the surgery, and I specifically asked about that because I know I'm going to be nervous as hell. Just knowing that helps me feel less nervous, so that's something else they will give me at my pre-op appointment. They will even give me something to help me sleep if I'm feeling really nervous the night before surgery.

The doctor plans to use the tumescent technique on me, which involves injecting the areas to be lipoed with lots of fluid and then sucking it all back out with the fat. With this technique there is supposed to be less bruising and a quicker healing time, so that sounds good to me. The downside is that, after the surgery, this fluid will continue to leak out of the various openings that I'll have and I'll basically be leaking all over the place for a few days. They'll provide me with something to put in my bed so I won't get it all mucked up, but I'm not sure if I'll have to keep this thing underneath me wherever I'm sitting during the day or what. I'm assuming I'll need something because I doubt that I'll be leaking only at night.

B is planning to take a week off to take care of me after the surgery and, if I remember right, I should be able to get back to work in a week and a half or so. I'll have to save up my magazines and record a lot of movies and stuff so I'll have stuff to do, if I feel like doing anything. I found a liposuction message board and I'll be doing lots of reading there between now and August.