Who is this Asian chick?
2006-06-06 - 5:38 p.m.

The Asian woman featured on my layout here is a Japanese pop singer named Ayumi Hamasaki. She's my favorite singer and I refer to her a lot in my entries and occasionally include animated gifs featuring her.

The picture on this layout is from the January 2007 issue of the Japanese magazine ViVi.

The symbols I've used on the right (except for the snowflakes) are versions of Ayumi's trademark symbol. The third from the top is her original symbol - a combination of her initials, A and H. The other two with the hearts in the middle are newer variations of the same symbol that she used in her last two concert tours.

She's been very popular in Japan since the late 90's when her first album was released. Here are a few links if you'd like to find out more about her:

Article in Stylus Magazine
Divine Ayu (fansite)
Ayumi Hamasaki Sekai (forum)