Licensed to hold a grudge
2006-06-07 - 10:44 p.m.

This morning I got a call from our St@te F@rm insurance agent's office (we have homeowner's and auto with them). The woman said that she noticed that my Ohio driver's license has expired (!) and asked if I'd gotten an NC license. Um, hello? Yes, I do have an NC license and this is the THIRD NC license I've had since I moved here. I got my first one just a few months after moving here, so I have no idea why her records were so out of date. She didn't know either; she said it must've slipped through the cracks or something. I'll say!

I had to get that first NC license because I moved here (duh), the second one I had to get because there was a discrepancy between the name on my license and the name associated with my SSN (never had it changed when I got married the first time) so I had to get a new license with my first married name on it so the IRS would release my tax refund check. This was such a hassle because I knew I'd have to get a new one AGAIN in a year (which I did) after B and I got married and I changed my name again. So that was the third license.

My current license expires on my B-day next year and I'm hoping we'll be outta here by then. But, knowing how my luck is, I'll probably have to get it renewed here, then we'll move a few months later and I'll have to get it renewed again in Arizona (or Utah or wherever we end up).

I failed my driver's test the first time I took it. I ran a stop sign. XD I was so nervous though! I'd already passed the maneuverability part of the test, then during the driving part I went down a street where there were three stop signs in a row. I was just so nervous that I didn't even see the third one.

I got my temporary driving permit when I turned 16 and I accidentally left it in my jeans pocket and it got washed and totally disintegrated. Now that I think back on it, they should've had this info on record at the DMV, but at the time I had to take the test a second time to get a temp. driving permit again. I wonder why they couldn't just reissue it to me or something?

So, I had to take the temp. permit test twice and the real license test twice. I was so not ready to drive when I did get my license. I actually had a small accident while I still only had the temp. permit and it scared the crap out of me. I was heading down a street where cars were parked on the right side. A bus was coming towards me in the opposite direction and there was room enough for both of us to pass, even with the parked cars, but I wanted to give the bus plenty of room and I moved over to the right a little too far...and I hit a parked van's mirror with my mirror.

My mom, who was in the passenger seat, screamed obscenities at me (and this is a bible-thumping, church-going, choir-singing, sunday school-teaching woman), which totally threw me for a loop. I'd never heard her cuss before and I think she scared me more than the actual accident did. I thought she was going to freaking kill me, and my poor step-sister was sitting in the back just dumb-struck by the whole thing.

I sat in the car and cried while my mom found whose house the van belonged to and explained what happened. I was supposed to go to work that afternoon (at McD0n@lds) and I was still crying, the whole time I was changing my clothes, fixing my hair, etc. I was begging my mom and step-dad not to make me go. I'd been in a car accident for Pete's sake! Yes, it was very minor, but I was traumatized and mostly scared shitless by how angry Mom had gotten with me.

My step-dad drove me to work, and the whole way there I was STILL crying and begging and pleading with him not to make me go. I absolutely could not go into work crying. Can you imagine how humiliating that would be? He pulled into the parking lot and parked, waiting for me to get out, but I still sat there crying. Finally, after who knows how long (probably only a few minutes) he relented and went inside to tell my manager what happened and that I wouldn't be coming to work that day.

I was so relieved, but so angry and so hurt that they would even consider making me go to work while I was freaking crying my head off. Damn them. It still pisses me off.

I would hope that if I were the mother in a situation like this that I would be a little more understanding. But, IMO, my Mom's reaction was all about her and how it affected her; I think she was embarrased that her daughter would screw up like that.

Just one of the many grudges I hold against my mom.