Books on mp3
2006-06-08 - 9:27 p.m.

I've been trying to think of what I can get Dad for father's day so I was just browsing around at Am@zon, and of course I saw all kinds of stuff that I wanted for ME. Well, okay, not all kinds of stuff, but one thing in particular. C0lumbi@ Sportswear makes these cool hats that I like and I found that they make a kid's version, which would be perfect for me because I have a small head. It was only $16, but I really don't need to be spending any money on myself right now. I've got my OB/GYN appointment coming up in a few weeks, which is going to cost me a big chunk of change, plus I really ought to be saving for my taxes so I'm not in a bind at the end of the year. That's one part of being an independent contractor that really sucks.

Anyway, I think I've decided on something for Dad. He was complaining that he's been a little bored and depressed lately so I was trying to think of something I could give him that could alleviate his boredom. I could send him another movie but that would only give him something to do for a couple hours, so I thought maybe a book would be better. I'm not totally sure what his taste in books is, but we seem to be alike in many ways so I think I'll send him a book that I enjoyed - W@tchers by Dean K00ntz. It's got plenty of suspense, and I know Dad loves that.

B and I actually listed to this book on tape (actually mp3) several years ago, and at the time I was working on an afghan so it was fun to listen to it while crocheting. We tried listening to another book on tape when we went on our wedding/honeymoon trip to Vegas, but it was so noisy on the plane that it made it too difficult for me to hear. Then we tried listening to the same book at the beach but the noise of the waves and surf was too loud this time, so we never did finish that book. We did manage to listen to The H0bit in the car while on our way to and from the beach one year, so that worked out okay.

My hand seemed to do better today, but it's still bothering me. I'm thinking that after I have the lipo and I'm off work for a while, my hand will have a chance to really rest and heal up all the way. But who knows, maybe it will be feeling totally better by then. I'd prefer the latter.

B went back to the doctor today to have his ear situation checked out and she said there was still tons of wax in there, so they squirted his ear out with stuff and finally managed to get the last of it out, and now he's got hearing back in his right ear. The doctor suggested that B use the ear wax cleaning kit once every few months just to keep things cleared out in there. I still wonder how in the heck it got like that to begin with.