OB/GYN and deck (non)miracles
2006-06-20 - 8:48 p.m.

Yesterday afternoon the doorbell rang and guess who was at the door? The deck guy! He was here to sand and seal the deck. It was a miracle. The extremely non-miraculous part about his visit was that he spent about five minutes "sanding" it (B said he only did the top of the railings) and then he started spraying sealant on it right over top of leaves and other things that had blown onto the deck. B ran out there and started sweeping the deck off because obviously this guy wasn't going to do that. B pointed out the railing that's warped AGAIN and deck dude said he'd be back on Thursday to replace that. Yeah, we'll see. Whatever.

Today was the day of my dreaded OB/GYN annual appointment. I don't know why I was dreading it so much because it always goes well, and indeed it went well today, too.

I remembered to mention everything to the doctor that I'd intended to and she was really nice about answering my questions and stuff. She gave me refills on my current prescriptions and also gave me a new prescription for something to use when my regular pain meds don't get the job done. It's called El@vil and it's actually an antidepressant, but in smaller doses it's used to treat pain, which will be the case for me. It's ironic that I'll be taking two antidepressants and neither will be for depression.

I'm eager to try this new stuff and see if it helps with my pain. And if it doesn't, I have no qualms about calling the doctor up and asking for something else.

I also asked her if she knew of any family doctors who were knowledgable about fibromyalgia that I could go see and she gave me the name and number for someone. Frankly though, if I can get everything I need from her, which I'm doing, I don't need to see another doctor. I'm so going to miss her when we move. I hope I can find someone just as nice and helpful as her when we go out west.

Oh yeah, and I also talked to her about the severe menstrual pain I've had a couple times during the past year and she gave me something for that, too. She theorized that I've had a few cysts that have burst during my menstrual cycle (apparently that's pretty common) and they've come and gone, so that's why the pain hasn't occurred with every period. She gave me something called P0nstel to take as soon as I feel this pain coming on when and if it happens again.

Wasn't there a song called Love is the Answer? I think my version of that song would be called Drugs are the Answer. I hate having to take so many things, but at the same time I'm extremely grateful for them.