Beach and lipo, beach and lipo....
2006-08-27 - 6:33 p.m.

It's time for some countdowns!

When I kept a diary as a kid, I usually only wrote in it when my family and I were getting ready to go on vacation. I would start a countdown to the trip, and each entry usually started out with, Well, only such-and-such number of days left until we leave!" Then I'd go on to talk about how excited I was and all the fun things I hoped to do when we got there.

So right now I have two countdowns; one for our beach vacation and one for my surgery. I have 20 days until we leave for the beach and 37 days until my surgery. I have a straw hat that I got at the beach last year that's a little big on me, so I cut a thin strip of foam to fit around the inside and B is going to glue it in there with some epoxy. I also have a pair of beach/pool shoes that are big on me and B is going to epoxy some little clear foot-pad-things inside so they'll fit better. I ordered a new swimsuit and I got the bottom half of it last Monday, but the top half was on backorder until November, so I ended up cancelling that top and ordered another top in a different color (which I made sure was in stock). I imagine I'll get that tomorrow.

So I've got the straw hat, beach shoes and new swimsuit that I'll take with me, plus this year I'll have the bookstand that B got me, which will keep my neck/shoulder/back from hurting after reading. Last year my neck/shoulder/back hurt for a month after we came back from the beach and I realized later that it was from reading (holding the book causes pain), and I did a ton of reading last year. I'll be better prepared this year. I don't know if I'll feel like dragging the bookstand out to the beach with me, though. We'll see. I'll definitely use it by the pool, at least.

I need to call the plastic surgeon's office pretty soon and tell them about being out of town for our beach trip and ask if I can get my blood test done before I go or after I get back. Did I talk about this already? I'm supposed to have the blood test done two weeks prior to surgery, but that will be when I'm at the beach, so I need to find out if I can do it before we leave or after we get back. And just in case they want me to do it before we leave, I have to make sure I've had at least two solid weeks with no D@rv0cet so my platelet count will be normal. So what that boils down to is, I need to stay off of it starting this week.

After we get back from the beach I'll basically have one week until my surgery, so I'll be off for a week, work for a week, then be off for probably another week. I may go back to work sooner than that, depending on how I'm feeling. If I feel well enough I'll probably be bored and want something to do, but I'm not sure how long I'll be able to sit in my computer chair. I've heard that sitting down can be painful after lipo so the thighs/hips. Not looking forward to that.

I'm hoping I can get my blood test done AND find out the results before we go to the beach so I can just relax and know the surgery is going to happen while we're there. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

The beach and lipo - those are about the only two things on my mind these days.