How I'm doing so far
2006-10-07 - 2:00 p.m.

The plastic surgeon called yesterday to check on me before he went out of town for the weekend, then I'll see him on Monday for my first post-op.

He said yesterday should've been the peak of my swelling and for the next 3 weeks or so I'll probably stay the same, shape and swelling-wise, then it will start to go down. I don't really think I've had that much swelling so far, but if I AM swollen, then I can't wait to see how small I'm gonna look after it goes down. This morning I tried on a pair of jeans that are probably the smallest pair I own and they fit. They were a bit snug, but they fit AND they look better on me now than they ever did before. Wow.

The pain has been getting a little less with each day, but I'm still having to take pain meds. If I sit perfectly still on the recliner with my legs out in front of me, I don't hurt at all, but trying to get up is what hurts the most. I've got some pretty nasty looking bruises under my garment and I think those are what're causing most of the pain. When I try to move and the garment squeezes those bruises...ouch. That's why I've been spending a lot of time on the recliner.

I have stiches on my various incisions and the plastic surgeon said he'll be taking those out on Monday. They're kind of itchy so it'll feel good to have those gone.

B and I had a little trouble with getting my garment back on Thursday, after I took a shower. After the surgery, they put these big foam pads over the incisions inside my garment, so B and I were trying to get the foam pads back in place while putting the garment on, but it was impossible. The thing is so tight that we couldn't keep the pads in place while trying to pull it up, plus it was painful, and I ended up in tears. B called the plastic surgeon's office and they said I didn't need to wear those pads anymore, so that was a huge relief. In fact, B said they seemed surprised that we weren't told that already. Nobody ever told us that, so thank goodness B called to ask.

I had to take a round of antibiotics as a precaution and I finished the last of those yesterday. I'm glad to be done with those because they were upsetting my stomach. I hope I don't get a yeast infection now. That happens sometimes.

B and I are almost finished watching the first season of L0st. That show is so addictive! I've been burning them onto rewritable DVDs so we can watch them on the TV. I have the second season, so I'm sure we'll start that as soon as we finish season one. The third season just started on TV last week, so I set the DVR up to record it and eventually we'll catch up, I guess. Every episode we watch we think we're finally gonna get some answers, but instead we get more questions! That's what keeps us coming back, though. ~_^