Middle-aged exhilarator
2006-10-12 - 6:31 p.m.

Not much new happening here during the past few days. I had my first post-op appointment on Monday and that went very well. He gave me a refill on the pain meds but said that I should be trying to wean myself off them by the end of the week, so I've been trying to take them a little less frequently each day. I still have to take a whole one before bed or else I wake up feeling like I got hit by a truck.

I've been doing a little work each day and that's going okay. The hardest part is getting up from a sitting position - it feels like my legs are being stretched/torn when I stand up, but once I'm up then I'm okay. The plastic surgeon said I'm only allowed to do some walking for now, so I've been taking a walk every day. The first walk I took was on Monday afternoon and I couldn't move very fast, but I managed about a mile around the neighborhood.

The swelling has stayed about the same, just as he said it would, so I still look about the same. I've got 4 more days of wearing the garment 24/7, then I only have to wear it during the day for one more week. He asked me on Monday if it'd gotten any looser on me yet (it hadn't) and said that it should gradually start feeling looser. I'm still waiting for that to happen. I dread having to put it back on after my shower because trying to pull it up over my bruises can be pretty painful. Not that I'm complaining, though. It will all be worth it. ^_^

I heard a couple funny things in the reports I've transcribed recently. One was a 17-year-old guy who was asked to describe a man, and the 17-year-old said, "I'd say he was middle-aged; anywhere from 25 to 35." Is this guy for real? Even when I was 17 I didn't think 25 to 35 was middle-aged, and you can bet your life I don't think so now, either.

Another man was describing when happened when his car was hit and he said he put his foot down on the "exhilarator" and then the brake. He he.