Stuff that's been going on
2007-05-02 - 8:32 p.m.

I�ve been meaning to update now for about a week and a half, but it just hasn�t happened for one reason or another.

I think it was the day after I wrote my last entry that B graduated from medical transcription school. He graduated with a 96 average! But�he immediately started worrying when he applied with several companies and didn�t hear back from any of them right away. Long story short, he did hear back from all of them within a week AND he got hired by one of them this past Monday! He will be starting the job next Monday, I think. This place is sending him a computer to use for the job, even though he already has one, so he has to wait until he gets that and gets it all set up.

The best part is that he has a fellow graduate friend who has also been hired by this same company, so she can help him get started and they can discuss their work, etc. Oh yeah, I almost forgot. B got a score of 100% on this company�s test. They couldn�t believe that he had just graduated because even some seasoned veterans don�t do that well. I think he�s going to do really well with this job.

Monday before last we decided to go hiking on the Blue Ridge Parkway since the weather was nice. It took about an hour to get there, I think, maybe a little less. We drove north into Virginia and then west to hit the Parkway there and it was a nice drive, but we actually didn�t do that much hiking.

As soon as we actually got to the Parkway we both had to pee, so we first stopped at this little post office to get stamps and hopefully use their bathroom. They didn�t have a bathroom, so we continued on until we got to the M@bry Mill. This was a very touristy little place so I knew they�d have bathrooms, but what I didn�t know was that they wouldn�t be open yet for the season. Argh� They had a sign on the main bathrooms that said to use the bathrooms next to the parking area or something like that. Thing is, we were IN the parking area already, so�um, what? We were confused and fussy and ready to pee our pants, but we finally figured out that we had to drive around the back to the overflow parking lot, next to which was what looked like a barn/storage shack that contained the aforementioned bathrooms.

We then continued on up the Parkway to an area where we hiked the last time we went up there, about a year and a half ago. We ate our sandwiches that we�d brought with us then headed out on the trail in the opposite direction we went last time. I think we managed to go about half a mile before turning around and going back because it was really steep and we got so freaking tired. I admit, I haven�t been working out much at all lately and my cardiovascular health has never been very good, so it doesn�t take much to get me out of breath. So we basically went back to the car, rested for a bit, hit the bathrooms at the M@bry Mill one more time, then headed for home. Something about riding in the car like that makes me tired, too, so I was totally wiped. We both were, in fact. I think we took a nap when we got home.

I can�t remember if I mentioned this, but I went to see the movie H0t Fuzz the weekend before last. This was the day before our hike on the Parkway. E invited me to go with her and P and P�s husband also ended up coming. It was a really funny movie and we had fun talking about it afterwards while we had some ice cream together. Plus it was just fun to get out and do something. E invited me to see In the L@nd of W0men this coming weekend, so that should be fun, and then the Friday after next we�ve got people coming over to play cards again. We tried to plan it far enough in advance that everyone could make it this time, so we�ll see.

B and I went over to the W0rld M@rket this past Monday to have a look around. I thought we might be able to find some things there that B could eat because they have a lot of stuff from other countries that aren�t necessarily made with corn syrup and other corn products. The only thing B actually got was a can of S@pporo beer and I ended up with a bunch of things for myself. I got a really pretty mug, some sesame seed candies, a bottle of champagne, miso soup, and some spinach & artichoke dip. There were a ton of other things I could�ve gotten, too. I love that store.

We also stopped at a car wash on our way home to spiff up my car a bit because we�re still trying to sell it. We haven�t been trying very hard, though, really. I put For Sale signs in the car, but that�s about it. Someone did call inquiring about it today, though, but he didn�t want to pay what we�re asking for it. The car wash only kind of did a half-ass job on the car so B bought some wax and he�s planning to wax both our cars tomorrow, I think. We�re going to run an add in the paper about the car or something, too. Any of you guys need a car???

B�s work schedule is going to be 12:00 to 8:00 Sunday-Thursday for the first 6 months, which is going to be quite different than what he�s used to. I don�t think he HAS to work from 12:00 to 8:00, but he has that amount of time to get his work done or something like that. Actually, now that I think about it, I think he has 12 hours to get the work done, so that would be 12:00 to 12:00. I don�t know. What kind of sucks is that he won�t be able to start until noon. I�m not sure how he�ll like it, but we�ll just have to wait and see.