It's a headache
2007-06-22 - 4:44 p.m.

Today was the day when I was supposed to speak with my contact at my new place of employment, but she had to reschedule for next week. I don't know if I'm psychic or just a pessimist, but I just knew she wasn't going to call today. I even knew what was going to happen: I knew I would stop work and wait for her to call at the scheduled time, I'd wait for about 15 minutes, not get the call, email her to find out what was going on, then find out she needed to reschedule. That's exactly the way it went down, too. Grrr....

The reason it's so annoying is because I got so nervous while I was sitting there waiting for her call. There's really nothing to feel nervous about because she's just going to be explaining the contracting process, but the sitting and waiting made me so anxious. I did some deep breathing and told myself to relax, and that did help a little, but I still got a rip-roaring headache afterwards.

I'm trying to give this person the benefit of the doubt, but I really hope this isn't a sign of things to come. When I got a contract with the very first transcription place back in 2005 it left a bad taste in my mouth because of the way it was handled, and sure enough, my experience with them turned out to be pretty negative. I'm really hoping that's not the case this time. Maybe they're just really busy with all the new people they've hired recently and stuff. I don't know.

The day before yesterday I typed just under 1700 lines. That's the most I've ever done in one day and it took me probably about 10 hours to do it. I hadn't planned on doing that much work, but I got an 80-minute interview regarding a homeowner's claim, and those are always really long and tedious. I can never be quite sure how long my work is going to take me, even though I ask for the some amount of minutes every day.

B is getting faster with his typing every day. I told him he's going to pass me pretty soon, but he doesn't believe me. :) He's been working about 7 hours a day and yesterday he did just over 1,000 lines. That's pretty close to what I can do, because I do 1,000 lines in 5 or 6 hours roughly, though I think my speed has increased a bit since I started working more a few weeks ago.

I called Dad last Sunday to wish him a happy Father's Day. I said I was going to send him a card instead of a present, but I didn't even do that. I just kept putting it off until it was too late. Woops. He's still working part-time at his old job, helping them train some new employees.

I'm just drawing a blank on what else to write about, so I guess that's it for now. I'm sure I'll think of other stuff later and then forget before I write again.