Wanna be starting something
2007-07-08 - 2:28 p.m.

I think I've finally recovered from kayaking last weekend, and now B and I are planning to go again tomorrow. Am I crazy or what? I'm hoping I won't be quite so sore this time.

This past week I inadvertantly started some shit at this transcription message board that I often go to. Someone started a topic by asking what state is most difficult for you to transcribe (as in what kind of accents are most difficult for you) and I said mine is Louisiana. I specifically cited an interview I transcribed with an old, black man several months ago that was really hard for me and someone got their panties in a wad because I mentioned his race, saying that wasn't relevant. I replied and said it was relevant because the combination of his age, his eb0nics accent and his cajun accent are what made it so difficult for me. Then someone else got their nose out of joint because I used the word "eb0nics," saying that word was offensive. Since when is that word offensive??

What really pissed me off is, I politely asked what term would be more acceptable to use and no one ever gave me an answer. Instead, they just went on and on about how offensive the term eb0nics was. On the other hand, quite a few people came to my defense, so I didn't feel totally alone in this.

I see now that I shouldn't have mentioned the man's race; that was a little insensitive on my part, I guess. But I consider it to be an accent and/or dialect, and one that I sometimes have trouble with, which makes it worth discussing. Some of these uptight women at the message board seemed to feel it was taboo to even mention it, and I don't agree with that. People have just taken this political correctness too far.

My annual OB/GYN appointment was this past Friday and that went pretty well. The good news is, the doctor gave me several new prescriptions to try that I'm hoping will be beneficial for me, but the bad news is, I completely forgot to talk to her about my weight.

I always have to wait forever to see her, but this time I was only in the waiting area for maybe 5 minutes, then they called me back to weigh me, check my blood pressure, do a urine sample, etc. Then I only waited another 5 minutes before they called me back to the exam room, but unfortunately I waited probably about 40 minutes in there before the doctor came in. It wouldn't have been so bad except it was freezing in there, even with a hoodie on over the hospital gown thing, and I had to pee, which was crazy because I'd just peed for my urine sample before I went in there.

Anyway, she agreed that Wellbutr!n is probably the cause of my anxiety and so I'm going to try going off of it and take birth control pills instead. She gave me a prescription for the pill that supposedly helps with PMDD (maybe you've seen the commercials), so I plan to start that and then try weaning off Wellbutr!n several months down the road. I told her about the horrible time I had trying to get off it several years ago, so she gave me a prescription for Effex0r and said I could try that if I wanted. Frankly, I don't want to be on any kind of antidepressant, but I don't know if that's possible.

I'm really looking forward to starting the BC pills partially because I know they'll clear up my skin. I've been using Pr0act!v now for a couple years and it works most of the time, but it doesn't always get the job done, plus it's something else I have to pay for. I'm hoping the BC pills can replace Wellbutr!n and Pr0act!v and not having to pay for those two things will save me a lot of money. Keep your fingers crossed for me.