Money and other B-day things
2007-08-08 - 8:35 p.m.

We found out some really great news today. Our bookeeper called and said he made a mistake with our taxes last year and we severely overpaid our state and federal taxes. So much so that we don't owe anything else for the rest of the year! Whoo! That means all the money I'm making is mine! Or...ours, or...something. You know, not the government's. ;)

We also found out last week that B's dad's widow wants to give B and his two brothers this timeshare place in Florida that they own. The plan is to sell it, since none of us really want to go there and use it, as long as B's oldest brother agrees to it. He's the @$$hole, if you recall. Anything could happen with him. I wouldn't put it past him to decide he didn't want to sell it just because B and his other brother DO. Anyway, if they can all agree on this, they'll sell the place and divide the money between the three of them. We're keeping our fingers crossed that this will work out.

I have been eating so much chocolate lately. First, they had a chocolate cake at my B-day party, which I ended up eating most of (bad, bad, bad), and E got me this little gift bag full of chocolate stuff. B advised her that I love chocolate covered cherries, which is what I ate first, and now I'm working on the rest of the stuff. She also got me a gift certificate for B@rnes & Noble, so I need to get over there soon and get something.

P and G got me a gift certificate for a local place that sells jewelry and gifts, so I'm looking forward to going over there and seeing what I can get.

My dad, the last of the big spenders, sent me a card with a check for $50. That will cover about half of my next prescription refill. Whoo.

Actually, I'm hoping I won't need to take that prescription anymore after a few more months because that's what these new birth control pills are supposed to replace. So far I haven't noticed any real difference; no effect on my acne yet. In fact, I have twin volcanoes on either side of my face right now (sorry, TMI). I remember it took about 3 months for my face to clear up the last time I took BC pills, so I'm trying to be patient.

Things are going well with my new contract. I mean, I guess they are, since I never get any negative feedback from them, but on my end things are going well because yesterday I made over $100 in one day. That's the first time that's ever happened and hopefully won't be the last.

I've been keeping up with my exercise, though I haven't lost any more weight. Yesterday I walked a mile on the treadmill in 21 1/2 minutes. Compared to someone who runs, I know that doesn't sound very fast, but for me that's awesome. That's about as fast as my legs will go without actually running. I'm hoping the weather will cool down a bit soon so B and I can go hiking over at H@nging R0ck. I'm in much better shape for hiking now than I was back in...whenever that was we went up to the Blueridge P@rkway. Few months ago.

It's been infernally hot here the past week or so. It's 9:00 p.m. and it's still 93 right now. I'm not sure, but I think it got up to over 100 today. The AC came on this morning before I even got in the shower. Sheesh!

My mom never called me back after last Friday night. I emailed her and explained that people were here for the surprise party when she called and sent some pictures from that night, but I haven't heard anything from her. Oh well. She said she had a present for me that she was going to overnight, but I haven't seen hide nor hair of that, either.

I said something this morning that I hadn't said in a long time and it made me laugh. I was talking to B and I said, "Dag!" like I used to when I was in high school. ("Dag" like in place of "Dang" or "Damn" or "Daggone.") I wonder if this was a local thing because I've never heard anyone else say it, except all my high school friends at the time.

I transcribed an interview last week with a teenage guy who'd shot at a car with his BB gun while riding in his friend's car. Apparently, some woman cut them off in traffic, so this guy decided to scare her by flashing his BB gun. He ended up having to go court because this lady wrecked her car as a result of his stupidity. The court date has yet to happen, so I don't what the outcome will be. I just couldn't believe someone would be that stupid. This job always keeps me interested.