Surprise B-day party
2007-08-05 - 1:32 p.m.

B and I went out to the Mexican place for dinner on my birthday as planned, but when we got home and walked into the house, five people jumped out and yelled "Surprise!" and scared the crap out of me. :)

Somehow B and the rest of them planned a surprise party for me, which I know must've been difficult for B seeing as we're home together every day all the time now. I think he mainly commuicated with E via email. B left a key for them outside the side door, so they came over while we were at the restaurant and put up decorations and stuff, then waited for us to get home. B actually called them right before we left the restaurant (he said he had to go to the bathroom) to let them know we were coming, and they were supposed to leave the door unlocked since they had his key, but B's brother D forgot and locked it.

B had to pretend like his key didn't work and was thinking, "Uh-oh, what do I do now?" but I had my keys with me so I unlocked the door. That worked out okay actually, because I went in first that way, which is what B had intended. P and E jumped out from the living room and screamed, I mean SCREAMED and I screamed, too. Then P's husband G came from around the corner of the hallway and N and D came from the kitchen.

They had a chocolate cake for me and made me wear these "birthday necklaces" around my neck (leis, as you'll see in the pics). Unfortunately, N and D didn't get to stay long, but P, G and E stayed for a few hours and we played cards.

It was really fun, but it seemed like they were only here for a few minutes. It was over too quickly. I put some pictures below from the party. First is me and B's brother D, next is N, then P and E posing for the camera, then P's husband G and last is B, me, P, G and E sitting at the card table right before everyone left. You can click on the thumnail to see the full-sized pictures.