Holiday working
2007-11-21 - 4:25 p.m.

No news on selling the house yet. We've had 3 showings this week, but still no offers.

We're thinking of changing the times that we'll allow the house to be shown because we've gotten some feedback that people don't like it when we're here because they feel like they have to be quiet and they feel rushed, etc. So maybe it might be better if the house were only available to be shown on days when we're not working, so we can leave. It's been too cold to go out on the deck like we were doing, and when we have several showings in one day it's hard to get any work done if we keep having to leave. It's been frustrating.

B called our realtor to discuss this with her, but she's had a death in the family and is out of town, so when we got a call about the house being shown this afternoon, B told them that we would be here working and if it bothered them, they should reschedule for the weekend. As it turned out, though, we were able to leave the house and take a walk around the neighborhood because the weather was so nice. And we timed it just right because they came while we were gone (we could tell because the screen door was left open). They were probably wondering where we were, since B said we'd be here. Oh, well.

The radio tower next door is still up, but the guy behind us has been working on his shed recently and has made some visible progress. The giant blue tarp he had on there for so long is now gone because he has the roof finished enough that it doesn't need it on there, so that helps make it a bit less unsightly.

I had my 6-month dentist appointment on Monday and that went very well. I've had some dental issues in the past, so I'm always nervous about going. When I made the appointment back in May, I was hoping we would be moved by now, but I made the appointment anyway, just in case. B got me started brushing my teeth with baking soda. I only do it every other day before bed because I hate the taste, but it's really seemed to help. B stopped using it for a while a few years ago and then, sure enough, at his next dentist appointment he had a cavity. Maybe it was coincidence. I don't know.

B and I aren't doing anything special for Thanksgiving tomorrow. It will be a regular workday for us, though B will get paid double for working on a holiday (no such luck for me). I'm not sure at the moment if I'll have any work to do tomorrow or not because I haven't received anything yet.

It's kind of difficult having two contracts because, even though I have a backup by having two, sometimes it's hard to plan my work. Like right now for example, I'm waiting to see if I get any work from Contract #1, the one that pays better. I've asked for enough work for the next three days, because they'll be closed for the holiday, so even if they send me some I don't know if it will be enough. If it's not enough, I'll need to ask for work from Contract #2, but if I don't ask early enough they may not have anything to give me. I don't want to ask for anything from Contract #2 without first hearing from Contract #1 because I may end up with way too much work, and I really don't want that. This stuff drives me nuts sometimes.

Anyway, hope you all have a very nice Thanksgiving!