-
2007-12-24 - 12:57 p.m.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

A week from yesterday was the day someone was last scheduled to come see the house. It was really windy that day and I was looking out the window, watching the trees blowing around wildy, when B and I heard a big thump. B thought something had hit the house, but I thought it was just the wind buffetting the house, but then a minute later I looked out back and saw a pine tree had fallen on the house! By that time, it was only a few hours before the person was due to see the house and I thought we were totally screwed.

B called our realtor and told her what happened and she said, in fact, a tree had blown over in her neighbor's yard, too. She then called ther realtor who was to bring the person over later and advised her of the situation, so they wouldn't think the tree had been laying there for weeks or months. We didn't get any negative feedback from this person afterward, and in fact our realtor said she was interested and was keeping the house in mind. :)

B also called our insurance agent and told him about the tree and he reminded us that we have a $500 deductible, so we figured we'd have to just pay for the tree removal and any roof/gutter damage ourselves. By the way, the roof wasn't damaged; just the gutter was bent where the tree hit it, so it could've been much worse. Anyway, an adjuster came to assess the damage the next day and told B that they'd be sending us a check out soon to cover the costs and B figured he didn't know about our deductible or something, so he just said okay.

A tree service came out and removed the tree the day after that and said that, had it been a different kind of pine tree, the branches could've poked right through the roof. It still seems weird to me that the tree fell because it wasn't dead and the ground was a little wet from some rain, but not soggy-wet. I guess the wind was just that strong.

Unbelievably, Saturday afternoon we got a check in the mail for $571 from our insurance. B and I were like, "Huh?!" Apparently the adjuster listed out all these costs that came to over $1,000, so with our $500 deductible, we got money back! Whoo! Merry Christmas to us!

Saturday evening we had our little Christmas party. B took a picture of our scraggly little tree after everyone got here and put the presents they brought underneath it, so it looked like we had a ton of presents. B and I decided to go easy on presents for each other this year, so the tree looked kinda sad with just our presents before that. B got a picture of E, me and P showing us her pregnant belly and we also got a picture of everyone, minus B's brother, before they left. I was pleased to see that I don't look as fat as I expected.

Since B are going to be working tomorrow, we decided we open our presents from each other yesterday morning and have our Christmas together then. B got me a cute flannel nightshirt, a southwest-patterned shirt and a pair of really nice, warm socks. He also said I have one more present coming in the mail. I got some really warm slippers from E and I've been dying for some new slippers because the ones I have now just don't keep my feet warm enough. The ones she got me are down-filled and really puffy and kind of weird looking, but they are fantastically warm. P got us a 3-D puzzle of a globe, which B and I put together last night. The pieces were numbered so you could use the numbers to help you, and that's what I did. There's no way we would've gotten it together in one night otherwise. Maybe we'll take it apart and do it again without using the numbers.

B had asked for some colored pencils and a drawing pad, so I got both of those for him along with a make-your-own-tile-magnets kit and a couple other small things. He just brought me a drawing he finished with his colored pencils today that looks really pretty.

Ayumi has a new album that I got yesterday and she also released a new video a few days, which I made an animated gif from. She's looking very sassy with her cute little haircut. You can see the video here. I like the song a lot. In fact, it's my favorite from her new album right now. I've been waiting and waiting for her concert DVD from this past year to come out, and I've been hearing that it will be soon, but I don't know exactly when. At the very least, I'll be able to see her annual New Year's Eve countdown concert in a week.

Gotta get some lunch now. Hope you all are having a great holiday, and btw, thanks junkmel for the happy house-selling thoughts. Every little bit helps. :)