I knowed I had tooken a wrong turn when I droved into the ditch
2006-01-21 - 12:04 p.m.

I started reading The Tokaido Road a couple days ago. This is the extra book I picked up when I got the Harry Potter books a while back. So far I�m not impressed with this book. I get the feeling that the author is trying to impress us with her knowledge of Japanese culture and her eye for detail, which is all well and good, except she tries to cram as much stuff as possible into every sentence making it somewhat tedious to read. It reminds me of the some of the writing done by my classmates when I was taking fiction writing in college. Not that my writing was necessarily any better, but taking the class taught me how to recognize good (or bad) writing when I see it. I�m sure even without taking a writing class most people can recognize good writing because it engages them and flows easily and most importantly, they enjoy the book.

Today I�m home doing the laundry and B is working. He invited me to come have lunch with him around 1:00, and those are my only plans for the day. It�s a rainy, dreary day today but it�s going to be pretty warm for January. We must be having a power surge or something because the lights keep flickering. I swear, I�ve never been in a place where the power goes out more often than it does here. A couple years ago the power went out for several days when we had an awful ice storm and it was miserable. We had a fire in the fireplace at least, but I hope we never have to deal with that again. The year after that we had the power go out in the summer time, which was somewhat better since we didn�t have to freeze our butts off, but the stuff in the fridge and freezer was in danger of being spoiled and it happened the day before we were supposed to go out of town. Fortunately the power came back on later that same day and we were able to go on the trip as planned.

Geez, I can�t think of anything else to write about. I always think of stuff when I�m away from my computer. Oh wait, I�ve made a few additions to my list of made-up words I hear while doing transcription. Here are some of the latest:

Knowed
Droved
Tooken
Shooken
Morely
Slidded
Landed up (a combination of landed and ended up)
And probably the weirdest one yet�Prodresions, which from the context I believe was supposed to be pedestrians.