Weekend plans
2006-02-09 - 10:43 a.m.

We woke up this morning to some snow on the ground. It wasn't much and it's almost all melted by now, but it looked pretty while it lasted. I can appreciate it more when I know I don't have to go out there and scrape my car or drive in it.

I have kind of a busy weekend ahead of me. Or at least, busy for me. I need to make a trip to the drugstore to get a prescription, I need to get the spare bedroom cleaned up for B's nephew & his girlfriend and I need to bake chocolate chip cookies (what B requested for Valentine's Day). I was afraid I'd run out of time if I requested my usual amount of work, because last weekend I ended up working Friday, Saturday and part of Sunday to get it done, so I only asked for 2/3 of what I normally do. They've been able to give me all the work I want lately, plus I worked 6 1/2 days last week, so I think I can afford to only work a half day tomorrow. My fingers/hands will appreciate the break.

The new headphones B got me really do a great job of blocking outside noise, but unfortunately they become a little uncomfortable after a few hours of wearing them. Today I'm going to try switching between these and the old headphones periodically to see if that helps. I had to switch back to the old headphones near the end of my workday yesterday and I couldn't believe the difference. I never noticed how distracting the sound of my own typing was until then. The new headphones almost completely block it out, in addition to the sound of the space heater, and it's much easier to hear the audio.

When I go to the drug store I'm going to pick up something that I'm hoping will help with my seborrheic dermatitis. I was doing some reading online the other day and there was a case where a woman had used cream for treating yeast infections on her child, who had what sounded like seborrheic dermatitis, and it worked great. This is one thing I haven't tried yet, and it's been so bad this year that I'm desperate to get rid of it, so I'll give it a shot. Seborrheic dermatitis is caused by a fungus/yeast growing out of control (gross) so it does seem logical that yeast infection cream would work on that, too. Keep your fingers crossed for me.