Secrets revealed
2006-02-11 - 9:19 p.m.

There's been some goings on around here since I last wrote, the least of which is that I seem to have an ear infection. WTF? I haven't had an ear infection since I was two years old.

I can't remember exactly what day it was, maybe Wednesday, but when I talked to B at lunch time he said that he and his brother D had "the talk." By this he meant the talk where he tells him we're planning to move out west after B becomes certified as a medical transcriptionist. The original plan was not to tell D until maybe six months before we were leaving, just in case he took it badly. He and B have been running the store together for many years and B has pretty much been fully in charge of it for the past three, so it could've potentially been ugly.

So the cat's out of the bag and B said it went very well. D approached him, asking if there was something wrong or if he'd done something to make him angry, and B said, "Well, if you really want to know what's going on...." etc., etc. D was very supportive with his decision and has even agreed to give B his part of the business when he sells it (when he retires).

Now B and the other two employees there will be able to relax a little because they've all known about the plan for a while and they've had to keep it a secret.

In other, more trivial news, Ayumi came out with a new video yesterday and I really like the song. It's called Startin' and just like I've done with all her recent videos, I made an animated gif:

I think it turned out okay. I meant to put some kind of transition effect between the last frame and the text part, but I was so excited to see the finished project that I forgot. I could go back and change it but I probably won't.

And just for the heck of it, if any of you would like to hear this song here is a link: http://s55.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=3Q4HS6JUUYO1R06CQMNFGU7RXC. The song was ripped from the video so sounds from the video are in there, too. Right after the sound of an explosion is the part where she stands up in the yellow suit in my gif, and the part where she's wearing the butterfly glasses is near the beginning.

If you listen to it, keep in mind that Japanese pop music is different than American pop. The cheesey-bubblegumy factor is quite prevalent compared to American pop, plus this particular song is the opening song for a video game so it has that kind of feel to it, also. I think it's a great song and extremely catchy. B already can't get it out of his head after hearing it a couple times. The video was cheesy and over-the-top, but funny, and Ayumi looks cool and beautiful as always, so the rest of it hardly matters. ^_^

Tomorrow we have grocery shopping, then I need to start cleaning out the spare bedroom. I don't know why, but I have a feeling that B's nephew won't be coming down the day he said he would. Actually the day was never definite; it's supposed to be sometime between Wednesday and Friday, I think. Regardless, I'm not going to have time to clean out that bedroom during the week so I have to get it done this weekend.

I got paid yesterday and it was the biggest paycheck I've ever had with this job. Yay! Then I had to go pick up my prescription today and spend a big chunk of it on that. Bleh.

Speaking of work, I've heard several people in different interviews use the word "curve" instead of "curb" recently. You know, like "My tire hit the curve" or "The car jumped the curve." Do people really not know the right word or are they being lazy?