Same old stuff
2006-03-08 - 10:21 a.m.

So, Americ@n Id0l last night...I didn't think anyone was outstanding but I thought everyone did pretty well, from what I remember. I would say that the two that Simon predicted would be leaving are indeed the ones who will be cut next.

Miss North Carolina cutie Kelly Pickler wasn't outstanding but she was definitely not forgettable ("I'm a mink!") I think her looks and her naivete will win her lots of votes. B and I both called in to vote for her last night and even at 10:30 her line was still busy. I tried all the other contestants' lines just out of curiousity and I got through on the first try for everyone else. So needless to say, seems like Kelly will be sticking around for a while. If she gets to the final two you can be sure everyone here in NC will be going nuts and AI parties and stuff.

I got an email yesterday from someone I haven't spoken to in 7 or 8 years, whom I used to work with. When I was looking for info on DC last week I came across this person's name on some kind of message board so I decided to email him to say hi. I didn't really expect to hear back from him though, since the post was from 3 or 4 years ago, but then I got an answer from him yesterday. He is living in DC and is doing his residency in a hospital there. I'm hoping he can help me pick out a place to stay in DC and fill me in on the transportation situation. Also someone else offered to send me a map of DC, so between those two things maybe I can get this trip planned.

I started taking iron supplements a couple days ago in another attempt to treat myself. With B doing all this studying and reading about various medical conditions he determined that I have all the symptoms of anemia. I was tested for anemia back in 2003 and the tests said I didn't have it, but according to B's medical dictionary I have all the symptoms and taking getting extra iron is the way to treat it. Honestly I don't have much hope for it, not because I think B is wrong but just because nothing has really helped yet and I'm wondering if anything ever will. But we'll see. I'd love it if I were wrong about this.