More non-words and stuff
2006-04-10 - 8:25 p.m.

B's nephew came by again this past weekend. I wasn't sure if he'd already gone back to Maryland or what until he called Sunday afternoon and asked if he could come over. He told us that he spent last week looking for another job here in town but wasn't able to find anything, so his dad is going to come pick him up and drive him back probably on Tuesday. Hopefully neither B nor I will have to see his dad while he's here.

B and I have become language snobs. Well, I don't know if we've "become" or if we already were, but nonetheless we can't help but focuss on words that people say incorrectly. After B's nephew P left yesterday I asked B if he noticed how many times P said "tooken," and B said, "Yeah! And did you notice how many times he said "ekspecially"?

For anyone out there who uses these words, I don't mean to be rude (as Simon would say), but those aren't real words. And speaking of non-words, I think it's been a while since I mentioned any new non-words that I've heard while transcribing. Here are a few:

Turnt
Everysince
Interpretator
Writed
Inputted
Stoled
Citated
Rebandoned
Exacerated
Right front-hand door
Unlegible

I actually haven't added many new words to my list in a long time because now I just hear the the same ones used over and over. I probably hear "shooken" most often, as in feeling "shooken" up after a car accident.

Some other things I often hear in the interviews I transcribe are how the accident "happened so fast" and how the other party "came out of nowhere." I transcribed one this weekend where two men were involved in an accident and the police refused to come since no one was hurt and both cars were able to br driven afterwards, but one of the guys insisted that the police come and wouldn't give his name or insurance info to the other driver until the police got there. Ironically, when the police did come, he ended up being the one who got a ticket for the accident. Doh!

Today I decided to pull a few pairs of capris out of my closet and try them on. They were too small for me all last year and I wanted to try them on now and see how far I had to go before they'd fit and, by golly, I got them on! They're a little tight around the butt but otherwise they're fine. I even wore a pair of them this afternoon when B and I went for a walk. That was a nice surprise.

I got out some cheapo pajama pants that I bought last year and sewed up the waist where they were coming apart. I'm glad I was able to fix them because I really like them. I also tried to shorten the straps on the top of my swimsuit but the sewing machine seeminly couldn't handle that kind of material so I ended up doing it by hand. Hopefully it'll hold.

We went back to Petsm@rt on Sunday and looked for the pink fuzzy chair but they didn't have any! So instead we got Miki a round bed with a cheetah pattern on the inside and black fuzzy trim around the outside. She was smelling it and stepped into it briefly yesterday but I didn't see her laying down in it until today.

After I stopped taking all the various meds I was trying the week before last it made me start my period early and I've now been on it for over a week! Fortunately it's not been heavy but geez, I want to get it overwith already. What a pain.

Oh, I just realized that I probably got paid today (direct deposit) so I'm going to check my online account.