Rude people and liars
2006-04-14 - 11:03 a.m.

A couple months ago B and I were waiting in line at the grocery store. It wasn�t crowded, the lines were short and there was an Asian family ahead of us in line being checked out. B and I were talking while standing there and B had his back turned towards the cashier and the Asian family. Suddenly this woman stepped in line between them and B. I assumed she was with the Asians and didn�t think much about it until the Asians were finished checking out and left without her. Then I realized that this woman was not with them and, in fact, had merely cut in front of us.

Stuff like that really burns me. Why, oh why, when the lines were short and the store wasn�t crowded, did this woman feel the need to blatantly cut in front of us? I�m the type of person who sees this happen, gets angry about it but doesn�t say anything. Well, most of the time I don�t say anything. On several rare occasions I have spoken up, but the thing is, that�s when I lose my temper. If I could say something without getting so worked up then maybe I�d speak up more often.

And speaking of being angry, it�s now been over a week and the deck guy never returned B�s phone call. So now it�s on to step number two, where we send him a copy of the contract and maybe some photos of the ugly parts of the deck. Every time I go out there I notice more and more places that are warped and it�s almost looking like the whole thing will need to be redone.

It�s supposed to be in the low 80s today and tomorrow. Whoo! It�s supposed to rain too, but I can handle that if it�s warm. As long as we don�t have bad thunderstorms and the power goes out.

Last night I pulled out our video from our trip to Pidge0n F0rge in 2003 and watched it with B. The day before we left the power went out because, IIRC, the remnants of a hurricane were blowing through and apparently it knocked down some power lines somewhere. Fortunately the power came back on before we left so we didn�t have to worry about food spoiling in the fridge and whatnot. We probably would�ve had to cancel the trip if it hadn�t come back on when it did.

I�m just waiting for my work to be sent for today. They�ve been better about getting it out on time this week. Yesterday they accidentally sent me a Spanish language tape (the interview was all in Spanish, no interpreter). I�d never had that happen before. I also had four interviews all regarding the same accident, and the last one was with the police officer who�d been at the scene. They rarely interview the police officer, but this time the stories varied quite a bit between the people involved in the accident, so I guess they needed another point of view to help get things figured out. It was quite interesting to hear the different stories and then hear what the policeman had to say. Let me just say that, by the time I finished transcribing all of the interviews, it was pretty clear to me who was lying.