Can't think of a title
2006-04-16 - 8:50 p.m.

I probably already mentioned this, but I wasn�t paid on time for the last pay period. They have instituted this new (and seemingly useless) invoicing this, which then caused my pay to be delayed, even though they said it would only be delayed if I didn�t get my invoice in to them on time. Anyway, for some oddball reason I got an actual check from them yesterday instead of it being direct deposit. The good part is, it was the biggest check I�ve ever gotten from this job. Yay!

I got an email from my Swedish friend in Japan the day before yesterday. He found a store where, with any purchase, you get a free hour of internet use, so wrote to me about how much walking he�s been doing while exploring Tokyo and it�s surrounding area. (Did you know that the Y in Tokyo is not a vowel sound? It�s not said like �To-ki-o� but rather �To-kyo.� Same goes for Kyoto - two syllables, not three.) He was feeling a bit intimidated about using the subway system there so I�m curious about whether he�s done that yet or not. Sounds like not, if he�s been walking everywhere. I�m also curious to know how much Japanese he�s actually been speaking with people. He takes Japanese in school but says he�s not fluent in it, so I�m wondering if he�s been able to find people who speak Swedish or English.

Our usual routine of grocery shopping on Sunday morning was messed up this weekend because of Easter (though we found out after the fact that the local grocery store was actually open today), so I took the opportunity to pig out on pizza. We decided to wait until Monday to get groceries and I didn�t have a lot of stuff left to eat, so last night I ordered enough food to last me until then. I got a large pizza and also decided to try one of these little dessert pizzas from Pap@ John�s, which was my breakfast this morning. So much for fitting into those capris, huh?

It�s been so warm here during the past few days that I�ve actually been able to go without socks. Not that I hate socks or anything, but it�s the principle of the thing. I love being able to stretch out in bed at night without having to make sure the covers are bunched up around my head so my ears won�t be cold.

I got a really strange audio file from my work on Friday. I started listening to it and, first of all, the audio quality was really bad, but from what I could make out it wasn�t an interview like I always get. Instead, it sounded like a regular phone conversation between two people. I scrolled through it thinking that I might find an actual interview there somewhere, but I never did, so I asked the folks there what I was supposed to do with this file. I was told to just delete it and not worry about it, but now I�m really curious about what exactly this recording was. I didn�t ask and they didn�t tell me. The conversation was benign and didn�t seem relevant to anything, really. Hmmm�.

I added a new word, or in this case a new couple of words, to my list yesterday: Toyota Crayola (supposed to be Toyota Corolla).