Thunder, lightning and work stuff
2006-07-05 - 10:37 p.m.

The show last night was really nice and I'm glad we ended up there instead of at the fireworks show because it rained and rained and RAINED. I could hear it thundering outside several times during the concert, even though the music was pretty loud. Fortunately, it was only drizzling a little when the show ended and we walked to the car, but the thunder and lightning continued for several hours afterwards. We ended up staying up until about 2:00 a.m. because we coudn't sleep for all the racket.

We then overslept this morning and got up right around the time B should've been leaving for work. Needless to say, he was late, but not too late. I couldn't slept for another 5 hours or so, as it turns out, because my work wasn't sent to me until 4:30 p.m. One of their digitizing machines is broke so they're way behind.

Oh, I found out that there will be no change in my pay, either up or down. The woman who suggested there might be some change told me that she'd actually heard something from some other person, emailed management about it and management said nothing like that is going on. Too bad. I was really hoping for a raise.

The good news is that they resent my statement to me this morning, I did my part with it, sent it back and they managed to get it in to the payroll people before they even started on our checks, so I won't get paid late. Yay!

Since I got my work so late today I did part of it today and saved the rest for tomorrow. (I have until 4:30 tomorrow afternoon to get it done.) I noticed that I have a long audio file with a foreign name on it for tomorrow, so I listened to a little bit of it to see if it's an interpreted one. Turns out, it is interpreted, which is good, BUT it's also one of these interviews where the dumbass interviewer put the tape recorder in the middle of the room, not close to anyone, so everyone is difficult to hear. Actually, I could hear the interviewer most of the time, but I really couldn't hear the interviewee or the interpreter at all.

I'll have to give the file a listen again tomorrow and then decide what I want to do with it. If I transcribe it and all I can manage to hear is the interviewer, that won't make for a very good transcript. I mean, if it has to be used in court or something, it won't be very useful. If that's the case, I'll probably send it back and tell them the audio is too bad. But what I don't know is, does someone there in their office end up transcribing the bad audio files that get sent back by the ICs? If that's the case then I may as well do it, because the client will get a useless transcript back either way, and it may as well be from me so I'll get paid for it. Or do they send these bad-quality audios back to the client? I know that does happen at least sometimes but I don't know how often.

I think I'll email the management and ask them what I should do. It would really suck for the client if my company sent back this interview without being transcribed because the client would have to do the interview all over again. What a huge pain in the ass that would be. But maybe it would teach at least one interviewer not to put the tape recorder in the middle of the room like that.