Headaches & blurry memories
2006-07-12 - 9:43 a.m.

Tonight is concert number three out of five of our EMF choices. We're seeing Benny Green - a jazz musician. Should be an adventure getting there because it's at some place downtown that we've never been to. I'll see if I can map it out online sometime today so we can be at least somewhat prepared.

B stopped over at the plastic surgeon's office on Monday to pay for my surgery, so there's no turning back now. (At least I hope not!) The doctor's office also sent me a note to take with me to get some blood work done, so I'm planning on having that done tomorrow. Mainly what they want to know is that my blood levels are normal and there will be no problem with my blood clotting properly, and I've been taking iron pills for quite a while now, so hopefully it won't be a problem. I've never had a problem with this in the past so I really shouldn't be worried, but I'm just feeling paranoid because I want this surgery happen so bad.

B and I discussed our potential trip to the beach this year and we were orginally planning to go for a long weekend, as opposed to a whole week like last year, but B suggested that we could afford to go for a week if I could chip in for half of the cost. So I've agreed to do that and I've been asking for a little extra work each day to earn some extra money.

I'm happy to say that, so far, my hand and wrist have been holding up pretty well. Where the heel of my left hand touches the wrist rest on my keyboard has suddenly been bothering me and feeling kind of raw after several hours of typing. I've tried sticking a cloth under my hand there, and that does help a bit, but it's annoying because the cloth slips around while I type.

Dad called me yesterday morning and we ended up talking for over an hour. He said he got the book I sent him for Father's Day and I asked if he'd had a chance to look at it yet and he said he'd already finished reading it! I was surprised. He said he gets up early with his wife before she goes to work, then he would read a little bit of the book after she left. He said it took him a little while to get into it, but after getting about halfway through then he finished it pretty quickly.

He's still struggling with his cluster headaches. They usually last for several months and pretty much ruin his whole summer. I'm hoping and praying I don't start getting these headaches, too, because I already get migraines, which I've inherited from his side of the family. Dad says he gets them most days, and he gets two or three each day. He has some kind of prescription for them, but he says it doesn't really help.

He told me some stories about a trip we took to California when I was about 3 years old. I have just a couple very fuzzy memories from that trip, so all the things he told me were things I had no memory of. We drove from Cincinn@ti to El T0r0 to visit my mom's dad there and we were in two cars, each with a CB radio so we could keep in touch. I do remember the CBs because I thought those were the coolest things. Dad said when we were driving through the LA area the people in our two cars were chit-chatting on the CB and some truck driver chewed them out for hogging the channel. He also said we stopped in Las Veg@s on the way back and stayed in some little place on the strip that's now gone (where the MGM Grand is now). I can just barely remember going to Ceasar's Palace and seeing all these statues and fountains outside. I wish I could remember more, but I was so young and plus that was 30 years ago. 30 years...OMG.