Jazz, sore throat and liars
2006-07-13 - 7:35 p.m.

Have you all heard about the Steelers quarterback who got in the bad motorcycle accident? When B flew down to Florida for his dad's funeral last year he sat next to this guy on the plane! B didn't know who he was because he's not a big football fan, but he could definitely tell he was a football player because he was wearing a jersey and, according to B, he was HUGE. B said he could barely sit in the seat. It's unknown why he was flying on a public flight, as opposed to some private jet or the team plane, if there is one, but nonetheless, there he was. B's brush with fame.

The show last night was very interesting. I'm not sure what I was expecting to see, but when Benny Green walked out onto the stage the first thing I thought was, "Geez, he is young!" He's actually in his early 40s, but he looked like he was in his mid-20s.

The place where we went to see the show was kind of small and more intimate than a regular auditorium and it was only about half full, so the atmosphere was different right from the get-go. Benny Green himself was a very soft-spoken guy and seemed rather shy, but he obviously enjoyed the music he was playing. There was a very large man sitting in this balcony area up to our left and he was sitting on a bar stool-type seat. During the first half of the performance he kept shifting around in his chair and it was squeaking and groaning like crazy. People were looking up at him and pointing and it was quite distracting, but apparently he got the message because he kept still during the second half. Or maybe he got a quieter seat.

They were selling drinks out in the lobby and they allowed you to bring them inside so B got me a glass of wine. I'm a total lightweight so I was feeling very relaxed after finishing only about half of it. As an extra bonus, the alcohol kept me somewhat warm because, as expected, it was cold in there.

My throat had been feeling scratchy all day yesterday, and I just assumed it was because the pain meds I took were making it dry, but while we were at the show I realized that it was turning into a full-blow sore throat. So, even though I hardly leave the house, I've got a cold. I started taking Zicam last night so I'm hoping I'll be pretty much over it by tomorrow, but as for today I've had a bad sore throat all day.

I went over to the lab to get my blood drawn for the surgery. Keep your fingers crossed that everything will come back normal and there will be no issues. I hope I didn't pass my cold on to anyone at the lab, but I didn't touch anybody or sneeze or anything like that.

For work today, I transcribed four interviews all having to do with the same accident. One interview was with a young girl and the other three were with the people who were in the other car involved. The girl said she just barely bumped their car, while the three others said they all had whiplash. Unbelievable! It's either one or the other; both stories can't be true.

I hear stuff like this almost every day, though. People's versions of their accident are never the same; it's just a matter of how much the versions will vary, and sometimes they vary A LOT. I mean, like, completely opposite. People are such liars!