Still too low
2006-07-18 - 9:58 a.m.

The plastic surgeon's office called again this morning. They said my platelet count in even LOWER on the blood test from yesterday than the one from last week and they will have to postpone the surgery until I can somehow get the platelet level up.

After I hung up I told B what they'd said and he immediately got on the phone to his doctor's office and made an appointment for me to see her on Thursday. I did a little research on low platelet levels last night and it looks like the treatment is taking prednisone. IIRC, this can increase platelet levels withint 5-10 days, but I have no idea if that's the norm and/or if it will work that quickly for me.

I'm glad I didn't have to wait very long to hear the results of the second blood test, but I sure wish they would've been better results. Now that the surgery has been postponed, even if I can get my platelet levels up soon, it may be another few months before they can reschedule the surgery. I just have no idea what's going to happen.