Back from the beach
2006-09-24 - 9:25 p.m.

We're back from the beach. Overall, it was a very nice trip. I was a little disappointed by the weather - it was too cold to go swimming most days and very windy - but the house was as nice as we'd expected. The chilly weather gave us plenty of opportunities to use the hot tub, and it was NOT broken this time.

It only took us about 5 1/2 hours to get there on Saturday, when we were thinking it'd be more like 6 or 6 1/2 hours, so that was a nice surprise. We tried to find a grocery store that day but only found a little convenient store nearby, so we got some booze, a deli sandwich for my dinner (B had stuff he'd brought with him to eat) and then just chilled out at the beach house. I got some of those Mikearita things. I'd never had those before, and they were good. How do they make a malt beverage taste like a margarita?

The next day we managed to find a real grocery store farther down the island and got groceries there. I ended up getting this huge Uno's pizza that lasted me all week. I went out by the pool that morning but it was really windy and trying to read was impossible because the wind kept blowing the pages of my book right out of the bookstand rubberband things.

Tuesday was the nicest day weather-wise. It was warm and not windy and we actually got in the pool a couple times. Once in the morning and then once after we came back from the beach. We spent some time at a beach down the road where there were a bunch of surfers and it was fun watching them. B got a couple pictures of them while we were there.

Mostly we were just lazy and did a lot of reading, sleeping in late and watching L0st. I got the first season of L0st before we left and burned the first 6 episodes to DVD so we could watch them on the trip. I thought about bringing more episodes but I didn't know if we'd like it or not, but as it turns out, we are totally hooked on this show now. We watched two more episodes today, in fact.

I'm uploading our photos right now, so email me if you want to see them and I'll send you the link. We had to walk a little ways to get to our neighborhood beach and it was a really picturesque little trail over the dunes, so B got plenty of pictures of that. Plus there are pictures of the house, the pool, beaches we went to, etc. The pool there was nicer than the one where we stayed last year, and I wish we would've been able to swim in it more.

So now I've got 9 more days until my surgery. Ahh! I know I'm being irrational now, but I'm just hoping and praying that nothing else happens to delay it. I've been very careful not to take anything that I'm not supposed to during the two weeks before surgery (Asprin, NSAIDs, green tea and a few other things) so that won't be an issue, so there's really nothing to worry about, but I won't stop worrying about it until I'm actually in the operating room and all prepped for surgery.

Ironically, I didn't take enough stuff to read on the trip. I took all four of the manga I bought, one magazine and one of the two books I got as B-day presents and I was done with all except the magazine by Wednesday. Woops. I had to kind of spread that magazine out over the last few days to make it last. But on the bright side, I have pleny left to read after the surgery.

B got a call from his brother today asking if he could work a half day tomorrow (he was supposed to be off tomorrow) so I may work some tomorrow, too, if they have any extras they can give me.

I got a bill a few weeks ago from the lab that did my bloodwork from when I saw my PCP about my low platelet count back in July. The bill said my coverage was denied, and when I looked closer, I saw that the doctor's office had invoiced United He@lth C@re, whom I'm no longer insured with. So duh, no wonder the denied coverage. I called my PCP's office about this bill and they said they had no record of invoicing United He@lth C@re (of course) and they did invoice my current insurance and I should just disregard the bill I got from the lab. So I did. I should've known better. When I got back from the beach yesterday, there was a past due notice from the same lab for the same bill. Now I have to make some phone calls and see if I can get this straightened out. I don't know if I should call my PCP's office again, call the lab that sent me the bill or both. It pisses me off that I need to call either one because I'm not the one who messed up here. If it wasn't such a substantial amount of money I might've just gone ahead and paid it, just to have it taken care of. I hate stuff like this. Keep your fingers crossed for me that I'll be able to get this fixed with one phone call. I'll probably call the lab this time since called my PCP's office didn't seem to work before.