Yard sales suck
2007-04-15 - 4:32 p.m.

Our yard sale was yesterday and since I didn't get any suggestions for pricing, I just had to wing it. :( Not that I mattered a whole lot anyway, because hardly anyone came. This was a neighborhood thing, but we were actually the only ones on our street participating. The people across the street were supposed to be participating too, but for whatever reason they weren't. I'm guessing it was because it was cold and gloomy looking and they knew that not many people would be out.

Quite a few people drove by, but only maybe 4 cars actually stopped. One lady did buy a couple pairs of my pants so I made a whopping $2. Whoo. On the bright side, we decided not to move the couch we were selling outside, so we didn't have to bring it back in aftewards. On the other hand, we did have to bring in the other furniture that didn't sell. It was pretty much a waste of time and energy.

I did have an interesting exchange with the neighborhood weirdo, who was walking by and came up to say, "Nice day, isn't it?" and, "You have a nice yard sale here," about 15 times. I think the guy is retarded or is autistic or something. He also called me Wanda for some reason. We always see him walking around the neighborhood on his way to the supermarket up the street. I think he goes there at least once a day.

B is now done with all his schoolwork/tests and is waiting to get his final scores. He used some of his spare time to paint the kitchen ceiling while I was working yesterday and he's been talking about touching up the paint and caulking in the bathrooms. We could probably keep doing little stuff like right up until the day we move.

B had to create a resume for the first time in 20 years or something, so I helped him with that yesterday. He used this MS Word resume template and somehow we got the format all screwed up, then we spent probably a half hour trying to fix it before we gave up. It's like there's an invisible table on there and there's a cell that we can't seem to get rid of that's making this big, empty space on the first page. If I were him, I'd just print out what he has and then re-type it into a regular Word document, but he's been trying to figure out how to fix it with this Word instruction book he has.

Here's the song I'm listening to right now: