Attack of the klutzy birds
2007-06-03 - 9:57 p.m.

A couple days ago I went into the den to watch some TV and I heard a large bang like something hit the sliding glass doors. I was standing right next to them, so I pulled the curtain aside to check it out and I saw feathers flying and a teeny tiny little bird wobbling around on the deck. It looked like it might've been a baby woodpecker.

I went out there to see if I could do anything to help the little klutz but it kept jumping away from me and hiding under one of the lawn chairs. Finally, it just up and flew away. I was afraid it wouldn't be able to fly after ramming into that glass door, but I guess it just needed some time to recover. Meanwhile, I was probably terrorizing it by chasing it around the deck.

A little later in the day when B and I were working in the computer room another bird came banging into the window in that room. I was like WTF? Are we in some new Hitchcock movie or something? Weird.

I did something kind of unexpected the other day; I applied for a job. Through a transcription message board that I frequent I heard about a place that's hiring, but I didn't pay much attention to it until I saw how much they pay, which is substantially more than what I'm making now. It's the same kind of work I'm doing now, so I decided to send them my resume and see what happens. I got a response almost right away saying that they need some time to sift through all the resumes they've received recently (most likely from the folks at that message board) and I could expect to hear back from them sometime next week. Keep your fingers crossed for me. B and I could really use the extra money if this works out.

I'll still keep my contract with the place I'm working for now even if I get this new contract, because there's no guarantee I'll like this new place. Plus I feel some loyalty to my current place because they've been very nice to me and the work has been steady and dependable.

Speaking of the current place, I got one of my transcripts proofed and sent back to me with a score last week. According to their guidelines, this is something that's supposed to happen periodically, but I hadn't had anything proofed in over a year until last week. The good news is that my score was 99.56% and I got moved up to Level 1, which is the second highest level you can be at. The bad news is, I didn't get any kind of raise or anything for this. I don't think they give raises, so I don't take it personally, but still. Anyway, it's good to have some feedback and know that I'm still doing okay. I included the fact that I have 99.56% accuracy when I applied for that other job. :)

I'm really liking my haircut now and I'm glad I got it done. For some reason, the bottom layer doesn't curl like the rest of it, so I do use a curling iron on the ends to make it match the rest of my hair, but other than that I just put some gel in and sometimes use my hairdryer with the diffuser on it. It's a lot fuller now with this cut and holds the curl more.

I've been using my sewing machine recently to make some of B's old shirts fit me. We have several piles of clothes in the spare bedroom from our unsucessful yard sale and I saw a couple shirts in his pile that I liked. On one, I shortened the sleeves and also shortened the length because it was really long, and the other one I just had to shorten the sleeves to make it fit. I think they turned out pretty well, and B was happy to see me using the sewing machine and getting some use out of his old shirts.

So Father's Day is coming up and I'm thinking of just sending my dad a card this year. I usually spend a lot of time picking out presents for him and for my mom and they don't get me anything, so I think I'm done with the presents. My mom never even acknowledged that she received the sweatsuit I got her for Mother's Day. I've got better things to spend my money on. >:P